Tanauan LL grabs 2018 Senior League Softball World Series Championship

ABS-CBN Sports

Posted at Aug 10 2018 08:27 AM

Congratulations, girls! Photo courtesy of littleleague.org

Tanauan Little League from Batangas were crowned the 2018 Senior League Softball World Series champions after shutting down Texas District 9 Little League of Waco, Texas, 7-0.

The representatives of the Asia-Pacific region showed their might behind a prolific performance from the mound by pitcher Royevel Palma, allowing only two hits the entire seven innings.

Palma's hands were mighty hot, throwing a shutout, striking out her opponents 15 times, including the final possession, and allowed no walks.

Our representatives broke through in the third inning after scoring four runs, courtesy of singles by Marika Joana Manaig and Palma, with Mae Langga adding a double. 

For the American side, pitcher Kennedy Parker allowed four runs on four hits, while striking out three. 

It is the first title of any team in the tournament from the Asia-Pacific region.

This story was originally published on the ABS-CBN Sports website