3 Beermen lead Best Player race in PBA Commissioner's Cup


Posted at Jun 19 2017 12:19 PM

Alex Cabagnot (5) and June Mar Fajardo (15) are two of Beermen leading the Best Player of the Conference race. Richard Esguerra, ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA, Philippines – Underscoring the strength of its local core, three players from San Miguel Beer are leading the way in the Best Player of the Conference race in the 2017 PBA Commissioner's Cup.

At the end of the elimination round, San Miguel's backcourt tandem of Alex Cabagnot and Chris Ross are tied at the top of the race with 34.125 statistical points (SPs) each.

Cabagnot is averaging all-around numbers of 15.13 points, 6.56 rebounds, and 5.06 assists per game, while Ross is norming 13.19 points, 5.19 rebounds, 8.06 assists, and 2.94 steals per game for a San Miguel team that is marching to the Finals for the second straight conference.

In third place is SMB stalwart June Mar Fajardo, who has 33.067 SPs built on averages of 15.6 points, 8 rebounds, 1.53 assists, and 1.40 blocks per game.

GlobalPort's Stanley Pringle is in fourth place with 32.538 SPs, while Jayson Castro of the TNT KaTropa is in fifth place with 32.467 SPs.

The rest of the top 10 are as follows: Japeth Aguilar of Barangay Ginebra (32.40 SPs); Baser Amer of Meralco (30.714 SPs); Marcio Lassiter of San Miguel (30.188 SPs); Terrence Romeo of GlobalPort (29.667 SPs); and LA Tenorio of Ginebra (29.563 SPs).

The entire Top 25 can be found below:

Meanwhile, Star's Ricardo Ratliffe has built a huge lead in the race for Best Import honors.

Ratliffe, who led Star to a semifinals appearance, has 61.556 SPs after averaging 32.22 points, 20.78 rebounds, 2.89 assists, and 2.33 blocks per game in nine appearances for the Hotshots.

In far second is Blackwater's Greg Smith, who has 52.909 SPs on averages of 27.18 points, 22.09 rebounds, and 4.91 assists per game.

Here is how the Best Import race has played out:

The awards will be given out during the Finals of the PBA Commissioner's Cup, which will be contested by San Miguel and TNT KaTropa.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.