Valdez, Marano, Santiago sisters banner national volleyball team

Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jun 14 2018 10:05 PM

MANILA, Philippines—The Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas Inc. (LVPI) on Thursday bared the 14-woman pool that will represent the country in the 2018 Asian Games in Indonesia in August.

The team is bannered by team captain Abigail Marano of F2 Logistics, three-time UAAP Most Valuable Player Alyssa Valdez of Creamline, and former national team skipper Mika Reyes of Petron.

Also part of the team are F2 Logistics standouts Majoy Baron, Kianna Dy, Kim Fajardo, Dawn Macandili, and Cha Cruz.

Making the cut as well are Foton's Jaja Santiago and Dindin Santiago-Manabat, Petron's Ces Molina, and Creamline setter Jia Morado.

Completing the 14-woman pool are Petron setter Rhea Dimaculangan and Cocolife libero Denden Lazaro, who are both reserves.

Of the 14, 10 were part of the team that competed in the Southeast Asian Games last year; only Baron, Cruz, Santiago-Manabat, and Morado were not with the team in Kuala Lumpur.

"Ibibigay namin ang best namin para dito," said national team coach Shaq delos Santos on ESPN5's SportsCenter. "Sabi ko nga, lagi kaming naka-focus muna sa process. Let's see kung ano ang magiging result nito."

The team will continue training along with other members of the 20-woman pool that was named earlier this week, in preparation for the Asian Games. 

The other members of the 20-woman pool who did not make it to the team are: Sta. Lucia's MJ Phillips and Rebecca Rivera, Cignal's Mylene Paat, Pocari Sweat's Myla Pablo, Foton's Maika Ortiz, and Foton's CJ Rosario. 

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.